Sunday, September 25, 2022

BARMM Hails PBBM Support To Mindanao Peace


BARMM Hails PBBM Support To Mindanao Peace


How do you feel about this story?


Interim Chief Minister Ahod “Murad” Ebrahim of the Bangsamoro Autonomous Region in Muslim Mindanao (BARMM) expressed his gratitude to the new administration for its support of the Mindanao peace process.

“We are deeply grateful to President Ferdinand “Bongbong” Marcos Jr. for understanding the importance of our work during the extension of the transition period, and for assuring that we can install a bureaucracy that can address the needs of our people for generations to come,” Ebrahim said in his message aired in local radio stations Tuesday.

Ebrahim said Marcos was instrumental in ensuring that the new Bangsamoro Transition Authority is “composed of meaningful representation from the Moro Islamic Liberation Front, Moro National Liberation Front, sectoral groups, and other important stakeholders across the region.”

This alone, he said, makes the BTA parliament “a chamber for all voices to be heard.”

Ebrahim and 29 other Moro and non-Moro leaders appointed by President Marcos took their oath before the President in Malacañang on Aug. 12.

Ebrahim lauded the President for uniting various revolutionary groups together with other sectors as representatives of Bangsamoro in one chamber.

Under the Bangsamoro Organic Law that created the new political entity, the BTA is an executive and legislative body tasked to oversee the transition from 2019 to 2022 and later extended until 2025.

Presidential Peace Adviser Secretary Carlito Galvez said the speech of the President and his actions toward the Mindanao peace process “demonstrates the President’s strong resolve and firm commitment to move forward the Bangsamoro peace process.”

“Through your [Pres. Marcos] decisive action, you are ensuring the completion of the implementation of all signed Bangsamoro peace agreements, which is the centerpiece of your administration’s peace policy agenda,” he added.

Data from BTA showed that 31 of the appointed members are new and 49 were incumbent and reappointed members of the parliament.

Most of them are lawyers, lawyer-certified public accountants, engineers, teachers, doctors, architects, media practitioners, politicians, former local elected officials, government bureaucrats, and religious clerics.

The addition of three more women to the 80-member BTA has increased their representation to 16.

“As we continue our duties in the interim government, we join the President’s call towards national unity and set aside whatever differences that divide us,” Ebrahim said. (PNA)

Latest News


BLACKPINK Launches ‘Shut Down’ Cover Contest For Blinks All Over The World

YG Entertainment announces a cover contest to celebrate BLACKPINK’s comeback with their second album, Born Pink.

Vice President Sara: Don’t Let Hate Overpower Unity

In celebration of the United Nations International Day of Peace, Vice President Sara Duterte advised the public to focus on unity over hate.

Villar Cites Role Of Women In ‘Nation-Building’

Significance of women. Senator Cynthia Villar emphasized the role of women in talks about nation-building and gave recognition to the National Federation of Women's Clubs of the Philippines.

‘Extraordinary Attorney Woo’ Star Park Eun Bin To Hold Fan Meeting In Manila

Woo to the Young to the Woo! Get ready K-Drama fans, Park Eun-bin or known as Attorney Woo is coming to the Philippines.

Bicol Express-Inspired Cocktail Bags Top Prize At The Monin Cup 2022

A cocktail drink inspired by the Filipino dish Bicol express hailed as champion of the Monin Cup 2022.

The Great Filipino Story