The 6th Anilao Underwater Shootout organized by the Department of Tourism in cooperation with the Local Government of Mabini, Batangas and the Resort Owners Association of Mabini (ROAM) to promote and discover the rich and protected underwater world of Anilao, Batangas recognizes exemplary underwater photographers last December 1, 2018.

This year, the competition received a total of 241 entries from twenty-four countries, and from there, the panel of judges including the widely published French naturalist photographer and marine biologist Laurent Baustista, award-winning Belgian underwater and wildlife photographer Ellen Cuylaerts, and Singapore-based macro photography expert and 2015 Wildlife Photographer of the Year Indra Swari thoroughly selected the winners.


The competition has two classes: The “Open Class” for participants with any type of camera and accessories, in which published and professional photographers will automatically be placed. And the “Compact Class,” exclusively for participants using cameras without interchangeable camera lenses. Mirrorless, SLR, and similar types of camera are not permitted in this class.

The categories for the competition are: Macro/Supermacro, Marine Behavior, Nudibranch, Fish Portrait, and Cephalopod. Two special categories are also offered at this year’s competition: Blackwater and Bonfire, which must feature animals found and photographed by doing either blackwater and bonfire dives: and another special category for beginners, that uses only Smartphones or Action cameras.

Here is the list of the Winners:


DOT Photographer of the Year
Dennis Corpuz

Macro / Supermacro

1st Place – Yun Thing

2nd Place – Cai Heng

3rd Place – Henley Spiers

Marine Behavior

1st Place – Dennis Corpuz

2nd Place – Brook Peterson

3rd Place – Cai Heng


1st Place – Bebot Esteban

2nd Place – Lai Kam Moon

3rd Place – Mohan Thanabalan

Fish Portrait

1st Place – Peri Paleracio

2nd Place – PJ Aristorenas

3rd Place – Marco Steiner


DOT Photographer of the Year
Regie Casia

Macro / Supermacro

1st Place – Ericson Yee

2nd Place – Narumon Pimsirinath

3rd Place – Ex Liao

Marine Behavior

1st Place – Maria Nerissa Fajardo

2nd Place – Jayson Apostol

3rd Place – Lee Gyoungmi


1st Place – Marc Stephen De Leon

2nd Place – Lin Haojie

3rd Place – Ronald Dalawampo

Fish Portrait

1st Place – Regie Casia

2nd Place – Lim Sudong

3rd Place – Ajiex Dharma


Bonfire / Blackwater – Cai Songda

Action Camera / Smartphone – Ria Crucero