Tuesday, April 13, 2021

La Union Distributes Relief Packs To Locked Down Towns

La Union Distributes Relief Packs To Locked Down Towns


How do you feel about this story?


The provincial government of La Union has provided food packs, face masks, and face shields to the municipalities under localized lockdown amid the increasing coronavirus disease 2019 (Covid-19) cases.

In a statement, the provincial government said it distributed Wednesday 501 food packs, 501 pieces of face shields, and 50 boxes of surgical face masks to the municipality of Luna.

“Food packs were also turned over to other municipalities including Bacnotan with 200 food packs, Santo Tomas 121 food packs, and San Gabriel 615 food packs on April 4,” it said.

Meanwhile, Governor Francisco Emmanuel Ortega III, through Executive Order (EO) No. 8 issued on Tuesday, has placed the municipalities of Aringay, Luna, Naguilian, and Tubao under modified enhanced community quarantine (MECQ) from April 8 to 21 this year.

Ortega said these four municipalities are at a “critical epidemic risk level” with more than 50-percent of their barangays having new active cases.

He added the heightened classification aims to arrest the further spread of Covid-19 in these municipalities.

Ortega said the Inter-Agency Task Force for the Management of Emerging Infectious Diseases (IATF-EID) has classified the province of La Union under modified general community quarantine (MGCQ).

The number of active cases in the province rose to a total of 1,319 as of April 5, with an average daily attack rate of 19.75 percent, he said.

Through the EO, Ortega has tasked the local chief executives and the local Philippine National Police to ensure compliance with the operational guidelines on the application of the zoning containment strategy in the localization of the national action plan against Covid-19 response and other applicable guidelines during the implementation of MECQ.

IATF-EID Resolution No. 30 dated April 29, 2020, and Presidential Executive Order No. 112 dated April 30, 2020, authorized the provincial governors to impose, lift, or extend community quarantine in component cities and municipalities subject to the approval of the Regional Inter-Agency Task Force against Covid-19, the EO read. (PNA)

Latest News


DSWD Livelihood Aid Empowers Women In Cebu

The Sustainable Livelihood Program (SLP) of the DSWD has benefited women in Cebu who have succeeded in their livelihood undertakings.

Team Up With Friends To Make It In The Mondelēz Int’l Leading Edge Business Challenge

Mondelēz International is open to top-calibre graduate and postgraduate students in Southeast Asia to join their 'live' business challenge this coming mid-April to June 2021.

Filipinos Google Unsafe DIY COVID-19 Treatments Instead Of Vaccine Registrations

iPrice Group reveals that Filipinos are more likely to search on Google about the Covid-19 DIY treatment rather than which vaccines are registered.

Checkpoints, Curfew Stay In NCR Plus, Other MECQ Areas: PNP

The NCR Plus bubble will be kept under check and curfew will remain in place, said PNP spokesman even after the President decided to downgrade the restriction.

NCR Plus, 3 Other Areas Now Under MECQ Until April 30

Anu-ano kaya ang dapat tandaan sa ilalim ng ECQ? Alamin!

The Great Filipino Story